a ride

Just on my way back home, I saw this child sitting in a  shopping cart and her mother who was pushing the cart. The little girl laughed non-stop and really loudly. Her mother, in a formal suit, also busted into laugh and kept pushing along the way.

Amidst the MRT noise and a buzz of voices, this little ride was really tranquility. A moment yet I felt like I was watching Matrix with bullet time effect. The laughter, the smiles, the child, her mother, everything about them linger till now and echo within my mind.

I wish I could relive that moment again, just to capture its sweetness, peacefulness, and familiarity. For the mother, this was her little getaway from a busy Singapore. To the girl, this will go down as an invaluable memory of her mother, a treasure for her journey in life.

I don’t know how much she appreciates her time with her mom. But I understand how precious that memory is and will be. Unfortunately, I don’t have that luxury. Partly because of my weakness and partly because of mom’s early departure. I can’t say that I remember much of her, which will definitely disappoint my pa and big bro a lot. Yet there’s this silhouette in my mind, in my heart, in my nerve. That’s why I can’t call my wonderful step mom “mom”. That’s why I still love hearing about how talkative and wonderful my mom was.

Probably i’m wandering again. :p

Lesson of the day: people can’t really appreciate something till they lose it. Life is cruel, indeed.

P/S: Good luck to myself for tomorrow’s test.

Leave a Reply

